3 locals named 2A all-state

Three Wilson County athletes have been named Class 2A All-State in football by the Tennessee Sports Writers Association. The premier all-state team in the prep ranks, the team is chosen by members of the TSWA following nominations from its statewide membership. Local honorees include:

Watertown senior defensive lineman Nick Lennox, a two-time member of the squad. Lennox was in on 74 tackles as a senior, 46 solo, and 11 tackles for loss.

Joining him on the all-state team was his quarterback Dalton Phillips. A four-year starter for the Purple Tigers, Phillips accounted for more than 2,000 yards in total offense -- throwing for 1,781 yards and rushing for 304 yards. He threw for 14 TD’s and ran for nine, completing 127-of-234 attempts, a percentage of 54.2 percent.

The other quarterback on the team was Friendship Christian’s Lee Maasen. The District 8A Co-MVP, Maasen accounted for 31 touchdowns -- 15 rushing and 16 passing. Maasen completed 79-of-126 passing attempts (62.7 percent) for 1,514 yards -- an average of 19.2 yards per completion -- with only four interceptions. He rushed for 1,056 yards on 115 carries -- an average of 9.2 per attempt. He was also named as one of 13 members of the Tennessee Football Coaches Association Class 2A team.

Tennessee Sports Writers Class 2A All-State Football team
Coach of the Year: Kevin Creasy (Trousdale Co.)
QB - Lee Maasen (Friendship Christian)
QB - Dalton Phillips (Watertown)
RB - Ben Beasley (Boyd Buchanan)
RB - Bryce White (Riverside)
RB - Tyler Edwards (Trousdale County)
RB - Davey Templeton (Rockwood)
WR - David Woodard (East Robertson)
ATH - Jabriel Washington (Trinity Christian Academy)
ATH - Jeff Inman (Rockwood)
OL - Ian Walls (Rockwood)
OL - Cody Newman (Riverside)
OL - Tyler Harper (Oliver Springs)
OL - Devin Caldwell (Boyd-Buchanan)
OL - Zach McEwen (McKenzie)
K - Josh Lenoir (Trinity Christian Academy)
DL - Nick Lennox (Watertown)
DL - Jake Lockert (Boyd-Buchanan)
DL - Dallas Gregory (White House Heritage)
DL - Ronald Harris (Mt. Pleasant)
LB - Tacola Seay (Trousdale County)
LB - Matt Crowe (Boyd-Buchanan)
LB - Josh Carroll (Adamsville)
LB - Evan Rogers (McKenzie)
LB - Whitt Siton (Signal Mountain)
DB - Joey Cox (Trousdale County)
DB - Clinton Babb (Boyd-Buchanan)
DB - Chris Harness (Rockwood)
DB - Dylan West (Oneida)
DB - Sam Woodard (Oneida)
P - Austin McKinney (McKenzie)