County, municipalities, JECDB earn GNRC Stuart Award

From left, Lebanon Municipal Airport Fixed Base Operator Heather Bay, Lebanon Airport Commission Chairman T.O. Cragwall, Lebanon Mayor Bernie Ash, Lebanon Public Works Commissioner Jeff Baines, Lebanon Mayoral Assistant Debbie Jessen and Lebanon Engineering Director of Capital Projects Randy Laine.

The Greater Nashville Regional Council (GNRC) recently presented the Marshall S. Stuart Award to Lebanon, Mt. Juliet, Watertown, Wilson County and the Joint Economic & Community Development Board (JECDB) of Wilson County for their support of intergovernmental cooperation and coordination with the Lebanon Municipal Airport Expansion Initiative.

Since 2009, aviation traffic at the Lebanon Municipal Airport has increased by 400 percent, making it the fourth-largest general aviation airport in Tennessee. Local officials said the airport helps fuel economic growth and support existing industry throughout Wilson County.