Wilson County Schools

Wilson County Schools administrators and teachers celebrate being named an Exemplary District by the state on Wednesday.

Twelve of the 21 schools in the Wilson County Schools District have been named Reward Schools by the state, WCS Director Dr. Donna Wright announced Wednesday afternoon to a packed room of the 12 schools’ administrators, teachers and staff.

The schools are: Lakeview Elementary, Mt. Juliet Elementary, Mt. Juliet High School, Mt. Juliet Middle School, Rutland Elementary, Springdale Elementary, W.A. Wright Elementary, Watertown Elementary, Watertown High School, West Elementary, West Wilson Middle School and Wilson Central High School.

Last year seven WCS schools received the Reward School status, according to WCS spokesman Bart Barker.

Lebanon Special School District Director Scott Benson said that Walter J. Baird was also named a Reward School.

Reward status is the top distinction a school can earn in Tennessee, Barker said.

“Reward Schools are those that are improving overall student academic achievement and student growth for all students and for student groups, and they are identified annually. All schools are given the opportunity to achieve Reward School status and there is no cap on the number of potential Reward Schools.”

In addition to the Reward Schools status, Wright also announced that WCS has been named an Exemplary District. Receiving an Exemplary District honor is the highest honor given to a district and is based on meeting specific criteria.

Recommended for you