Will Pruitt & Troy Allen snag top honors -

Two individuals who have been instrumental in the recent basketball success at Mt. Juliet High have earned top honors as The Wilson Post announces the 2020 All Wilson County basketball team.

Class 3A Mr. Basketball finalist Will Pruitt repeats as our Player of the Year.

A 6-3 guard who has signed with Lipscomb University, Pruitt averaged 21 points and 5.2 assists per game as a senior, leading the Golden Bears to a record of 29-3.

Mt. Juliet won both the District 9AAA regular season and tournament championships along with the Region 5AAA tournament before crushing Summit 58-41 in a TSSAA Sectional game to earn a spot in the canceled BlueCross State Championships.

Pruitt was a two-time Class 3A all-state selection by the Tennessee Sports Writers Association, two-time District 9AAA Most Valuable Player and is a two-time Wilson County Player of the Year.

Over the past two seasons, Mt. Juliet has finished 57-6. Pruitt is the son of David and Angie Pruitt.

Our Coach of the Year is Troy Allen, who in his final year as the head coach of the Golden Bears, took the squad to the ill-fated BlueCross State Championships -- a tournament that was eventually canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

After losing back-to-back games in December to Siegel and Hillsboro, Allen's team closed out the season on a 21-1 run and won both the District 9AAA and Region 5AAA tournaments to earn the right to host a TSSAA Sectional game for the first time in the history of the program.

Allen, who resigned his post at MJHS earlier this year to launch the program at crosstown Green Hill High, is without question the most successful coach in the history of Mt. Juliet High.

In 15 seasons as the head coach of the Golden Bears, Allen's teams piled up an overall record of 322-155 -- a winning percentage of .675.

He led the Golden Bears to a pair of TSSAA Class AAA state tournaments, in 2018, the first in the history of the program, and in 2020.

Over the past five seasons, Allen's Mt. Juliet teams piled up a record of 131-35 -- a winning percentage of .784.

During the same span, the Golden Bears went 58-12 in District 9AAA -- a winning percentage of .828.

FIRST TEAM ALL WILSON COUNTY -- Watertown senior Rayquan Verge, Mt. Juliet senior Gage Wells, Lebanon senior David Greene, Friendship Christian senior Andrew Mathis & Wilson Central senior Caleb Lawrence.

SECOND TEAM ALL WILSON COUNTY -- Mt. Juliet junior Charles Clark, Lebanon senior Gaven Reasonover, Watertown junior Quanterrious Hughes-Malone, Watertown senior Elijah Williams & Lebanon junior Kobe Tibbs.

HONORABLE MENTION -- Mt. Juliet junior Riggs Abner, Watertown sophomore Brayden Cusino, MJ Christian junior Carter Branim, Friendship Christian senior Mitch Pelham, Wilson Central senior Jordan Beard & Wilson Central sophomore Adler Kerr,

PLAYER OF THE YEAR -- Will Pruitt; COACH OF THE YEAR -- Troy Allen.

Recommended for you